April 22, 2009

Thawwwts//Full Circle I

Yesterday, I was having a conversation with myself (in my braaain.) while I was reading about Islam in World Religions.... it went a little something like this...

"wow - I would MUCH rather be reading about quakers."
PAUSE, let me fill you in, I started reading about them a few weeks back and find their expression of their faith (a faith that is very similiar to my own) to be especially interesting...
"I wonder why their form of worship is sitting in a plain room silently thinking to themselves...why wouldn't they have some discussion type of setting?"
PAUSE, filling you in, yes that is their worship service..though they do have something sunday school classes...little hodge-podge for you

I left off on that thought and kept reading, about Muhammad and the prophecies from God and excetra... THEN I thought to myself...

question -"hmmmm, why don't I believe in the Quaran?"
answer - "I believe that the Bible is that last account of God's Word to man."
question - "Why don't I believe God would have anything left to say to humanity through the Word?"

To be honest, I didn't really have an answer for myself...so I kept reading...THEN suddenly, like all of these thoughts started coming to me and now it makes complete sense! Let me explain.

Man and God were seperated - there was a barrier between the two because of sin. God communicated THROUGH Abraham and other prophets to the Jews. Then God communicated THROUGH Jesus to the Jews.... but once Jesus defeated death, the gap between God and man had been bridged. Therefore, making it possible for man to know God (or at least know as much as God chooses to reveal to any individual that has made a decision to have a personal relationship with Him.) Because this bridge had been gaped, there is no longer any reason for man to rely on prophets to have revealations from God. The Holy Spirit is the 'phone line' that gives man and God direct communication with eachother... (ps- thats wicked awesome)

So, coming full circle (and don't hold me to it, but it's possible I said this outloud...) I thought "OHHHHHH!!!!!!! THATS WHY THE QUAKERS CAN A SIT IN SILENCE AND MEDITAION WITHOUT A 'PASTOR' or 'PREACHER' OF SOME KIND - BECAUSE THEY HAVE DIRECT UNION WITH THE HOLY SPIRIT."
wow wow wow wow wow wow wow

and THIS is the reason i got a blog - so i wouldnt forget these 'full circle' conversations I tend to have (quite often) in my head.

but am I really talking to myself? am i the only one involved in the conversation...?


(hint - the answer is the holy spirit ;) no problem, i got cha back.)

discloser: I have nothing against Pastors, Ministers, excetra...they have many other functions than just preaching. The purpose of this post was for my own memory - if I didn't record these convos I would forget - and THAT my friend, would be a bummer :'( muy triste

No comments:

Post a Comment